Real #Science: Plague of Equals #IARTG #Books #SciFi

PoE Cover plain - Copy

A science thriller of international disease, politics and drug discovery.

In cities and villages world-wide, drug companies must defend their clinical trials against anti-science activists. Eleanor Powell is convinced the drug companies have done their due diligence, but the global population is shrinking and politicians are looking for a scapegoat. Eleanor is finding herself suddenly in the middle of a cultural battle over science and statistics.

Meanwhile, in a remote village in Vietnam, Mike Johnson fights to understand if Agent Orange is the cause of the miscarriages and low birth rates he sees there. Why are the children dying, or not being born at all?

Others around the globe, like Angeline Moreno, are also fighting to save their people. Angeline returns home to the Amazon and sees her best friend die in childbirth. Now her sister-in-law is pregnant, and they have no answers. The problems may be global, but solutions must be local.

Even as their lives tangle together in this international science thriller, no one can see the full pattern. Can any solutions be found before it’s too late? Hope may be their best weapon. But will it be enough?

Advertisements

Plague of Equals – Online Extra – Americas Map #SciFi #Thriller #Books

Americas_satellite_map-2

Liam Shaughnessy, Assistant Professor of Economics and Statistics, was refused tenure in a building named after his mother (1), yet one more indignity suffered at the hands of his meddling parent, and her friends–none of which had any respect for the mathematics he loved. He included the politically correct faculty committee that turned him down in this group.

Fortunately he’d been invite to speak to a U.N. Conference in Iquitos, Peru(2), deep in the Amazon jungle. He wondered if a change in geography would point him in a new direction.

Being kidnapped was not what he planned, but could a jungle fire fight be what he really needed?

Plague of Equals: #Goodreads #Reviews #biology #SciFi #Books

PoE Cover plain - Copy

Excerpts from a couple of Goodreads reviews (4.5 stars):

“This is not your ordinary international suspense thriller.”

“It kept me reading, and it kept me guessing.”

“It’s got all the stereotypes, but beware of falling into the trap of thinking the stereotypes are valid.”

“Having a scientific background and (full disclosure) working in the drug development/clinical trial field, … It is a fascinating hypothesis and one I did NOT see coming.”

“It certainly is surprising, and a welcome relief from the usual thriller ending. The science is pretty interesting, and the writing makes it more so. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.”

Plague of Equals – Online Extra – Vietnam Map #SciFi #IARTG

PoE Vietnam with numbers

The action in Vietnam starts with Mike, a Vietnam vet who has been MIA since before the war ended. He lives in a small village outside Da Lat (1) with his adopted family. When, in spite of rushing Mai Linh to the hospital in Da Lat (2), her baby dies, Mike decides to risk being arrested as a deserter, and go to Saigon to demand help for the villagers being poisoned by Agent Orange.

Chi joins Mike on the spectacular railroad through the mountains (3). This engineering masterpiece might someday be restored, but for today it only lives in fiction. They finally arrive in Ho Chi Minh City (4), which Mike still calls Saigon. Mike’s plan A fails, so he moves to an improvised plan B: taking hostages in the American Embassy.

Never under estimate the Army Special Forces, even one old enough for Social Security.

Plague of Equals – Online Extra – Amazon Map #SciFi

Amazon Map for Plague of Equals trimmed wide

The action in Iquitos (6) begins when Ani Moreno returns home to Nanay Libre (1) from San Francisco and talks to her brother Carlos. Carlos first blows up the CUI warehouse (2) and then kidnaps an American professor, Liam Shaughnessy, taking him to a camp (3) far up the Rio Nanay (5). Guerrillas pursue Carlos via the Nauta Highway (4). A firefight and jungle battle … but maybe you want to read the book?

Another #GoodReads 5-star review for Plague of Equals #SciFi

PoE Cover science 1 - Copy

Another five-star review on Goodreads

“Plague of Equals” is a book in the tradition of Wilbur Smith, Leon Uris or James Michener: a big, sprawling adventure tale centred on a specific theme, with an almost Chaucerian cast of characters. The action moves from the jungles of South America to the corridors of power in D.C., weaving together personal stories and medical science into a cautionary tale about both theory and life.

There are a few bumpy moments – places where the action seems unnecessarily interrupted by information about disease or current medical technologies – but overall, it’s a gripping tale with wild exploits and sympathetic every-day heroes that will keep you thinking long after “The End”.

FREE to Kindle Unlimited and KOLL.

Plague of Equals-more #Amazon #Review #SciFi

PoE Cover science 1 - Copy

“This is not your ordinary international suspense thriller”.

“It’s got all the stereotypes, but beware of falling into the trap of thinking the stereotypes are valid.”

“[The ending] certainly is surprising, and a welcome relief from the usual thriller ending.”

“The science is pretty interesting, and the writing makes it more so.”

“I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.”

Plague of Equals – Reader Feedback #Science #SciFi

Plague of Equals 1260x2044

This is a comment I received from a research biologist who read Plague of Equals…

I’ve been meaning to let you know I’ve read your book and enjoyed it very much. Maintained my interest, enjoyed the characters, appreciated the controversy, and was pleased with the conclusion – love the idea of a “live long kill young” virus – very creative – I did not see that coming.

This gives me an opportunity to talk about the science fiction of Plague of Equals. Central to the plot is a worldwide epidemic that has the scientists baffled.

As in the real world, baffled scientists open the door for people with preconceived agendas and ulterior motives to exploit the uncertainty to their own ends.

In this story, the scientists do what scientists always do … they find the truth. The truth is surprising to both scientific and non-scientific readers. Enjoy.

Another 5-star review for Plague of Equals

PoE Cover science 1 - Copy

Another five-star review on Goodreads

“Plague of Equals” is a book in the tradition of Wilbur Smith, Leon Uris or James Michener: a big, sprawling adventure tale centred on a specific theme, with an almost Chaucerian cast of characters. The action moves from the jungles of South America to the corridors of power in D.C., weaving together personal stories and medical science into a cautionary tale about both theory and life.

There are a few bumpy moments – places where the action seems unnecessarily interrupted by information about disease or current medical technologies – but overall, it’s a gripping tale with wild exploits and sympathetic every-day heroes that will keep you thinking long after “The End”.

FREE to Kindle Unlimited and KOLL.

Flyers and Promotions